Well, this cake has a lot of meaning for me. It was served at my friend’s 65th Birthday party. My first catering job ever was making dinner for her 62nd birthday.

For me, that party three years ago opened the door to a new way of thinking about food. I realized that by starting Shining Sage Catering, I can choose to make local food approachable to the average person. I vote with every meal for nutrition, a strong community, fair wages and healthy land.

It is with a mix of excitement and sadness (mostly excitement) that I have decided to move back to the Okanagan. The cake was technically my last job, although you may see me at the Farm Gate Market once more. I am looking forward to being closer to my family, and climbing my grandma’s cherry tree for a great snack.

Thank you for all the support along the way. Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

